Honduras / Travel

“Peligro”

– Means “dangerous” in English and is a word I hear used quite often to describe various aspects of Honduras.

I can’t say that I am not accustomed to danger.

Snakes,

Violent drunks,

And drug cartels – are a few of the dangers I have had the privilege of living in close proximity to.

Well, this summer I am able to add yet another to that list:

Honduran drivers.

The various types of vehicles are listed in desending dominance as follows:

  1. Eighteen-wheelers,
  2. trucks (usually with no less that ten people hanging on for dear life in the back),
  3. cars,
  4. moto-taxis (three-wheeled, Indian-made, maniac-driven deathtraps)
  5. bicycles

Where you are in the line-up, determines your right-of-way.

That is the unspoken law of the land

You either live by it or perish in mass of twisted steel and flames on the side of the road.

Simple – Yes

Safe- No

And the fact that I sleep thirty feet away from the Honduran version of an interstate every night is not all that comforting.

On the contrary as a matter of fact.

I could feel fear gripping my heart as I climbed into the rickety moto-taxi on the way to the market today.

As massive trucks trucks flew by at insane speeds and honked their horns in a panicked fashion.

And as I shakily stepped to the ground and realized that six lives had been entrusted to a machine that couldn’t have weighed any more than a motorcycle,

In my conversations with  friends who had previously visited Honduras, one topic stuck out time and time again:

The reckless driving of native Hondurans.

Whether it be holding on for precious life in the back of a truck with twenty other people on the way to a soccer game,

Or passing four eighteen-wheelers at seventy-five miles an hour on a steep mountain road.

I have found that it is quite hard to always trust in a God who can and will protect – when I am never in harm’s way.

But when I find yourself staring death in the face (or at least imagining that to be so), – God can take on a whole different level of significance, (for lack of a better word.)

Needless to say, danger usually has a way of drawing my mind to the God who is my Saviour, Creator, and Comforter.

And little accidents like this one, which happened on the second day right in front of the house I am staying in, often serve to remind me of my Father’s encouragement and promise in Deuteronomy 31:6, where it says:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

That is what I have to hold onto this summer, and that is enough.

 

6 thoughts on ““Peligro”

  1. i am still laughing from this one….it’s the same way in Brasil and i never quite got used to it although i’m sur it’s worse being so close to the traffic there. i will add this to my prayer list!!

  2. Well Nate, God be with you and it sounds like I need to do a lot more praying for you. Love you, Grandma

  3. Nate,
    I am a friend of your grandparents and a member of the Koinonia Sunday School Class at TUMC. I have met you before but I am sure you don’t remember me. I was blown away by your blog! Such insight in someone your age is unusual. Your blog is also very interesting. I look forward to hearing more about your faith journey. If there is anything you need or anything that I can do for you, please don’t hesitate to ask. You will be in my prayers. Blessings >
    Sherryl Laing

    • Thank you so much for the time you took to read my blog,
      It is a such a gift to be able to keep in contact with all my friends at home through this.
      It is such a blessing as well to have you praying for me and I can’t thank you enough.
      Continue bringing shalom to this world my friend.
      love,
      -NZH

Leave a Comment

