Honduras / Random Musings

I am second

So I’ve been puzzling over the Holy Spirit a bit lately.

Encountering question after question that I don’t have definitive answers to

And since the day of penticost only recently passed us on the calendar

I’m sure there are others who have similar questions.

Who is He? What does He do? How does He lead and comfort us? When can I expect Him?

All valid questions.

And all questions that I am not writing this post with the intent of  answering.

Instead I want to focus on one way I have felt Him at work in me.

As long as I have truly been attempting to follow the Spirit’s leading, self-glorification has been something I have struggled deeply with.

Pride has tripped up my walk with Him more times than I care to recall.

And even as I read back through what I have written, I am disgusted my the sheer quantity of “I‘s” and “me‘s” this blog contains.

Matthew 5:16 says, “In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your father who is in heaven.”

So a good sign that the spirit is at work is when Christ is magnified and people get left out of the equation.

Correct?

When the Spirit of God came upon Christ’s followers gathered for the day of Pentecost, people who witnessed the power at work didn’t leave saying, “That John dude! what a linguist! he learned a whole new language in a matter of seconds.”

No – They realized that the radical power the apostles possessed was not actually their own, instead it belonged wholly to an all-powerful God.

I want people to look at me and see a child, detoxed of pride, and filled with a love that points to an awesome savior who continually sucks all the attention away from this faltering body that I call my own.

Unless you’ve never met Nate… you’ll know that he’s a long way from that. 

And now that He has lead me to Honduras and provided so well for me, I could easily work for the kingdom all summer and still have none of the glory go to Him who deserves it.

That’s a terrifying thought.

One that could quickly become a reality in this image-driven world that we live in.

Where man is lifted up higher than his creator in so many ways.

The prophet Jeremiah had plenty to say to the tribes who had turned from the living God and lost themselves in pride:

Jeremiah 13:15-16
” Hear ye, and give ear; be not proud, for the LORD hath spoken. Give glory to the LORD your God before He cause darkness, and before your feet stumble upon the dark mountains, and, while ye look for light, He turn it into the shadow of death, and make it gross darkness.”

However, God’s love and power is bigger than I  can possibly inflate myself with pride.

My prayer is that the Spirit’s sanctifying work in my life would burst my silly pride and replace it with something far more Beautiful-

His Spirit.

Side note/Praise:

(1) I spent two hours in the market today and did not get shot or robbed.

(2) Although I have been here for 11 days and have eaten street-food almost every other day, I have yet to contract an illness of any sort.

2 thoughts on “I am second

Leave a Comment

