Honduras / Random Musings

futbol!

Or Soccer.

Be you of the USA.

Whatever the name of the game, God has used this silly little sport to teach me a couple of important lessons.

1. Don’t mess with Hondurans in soccer.

  • When your entire country is obsessed with one sport, your bound to have at least a few good players. (Or maybe more than a few)
  • As soon as a child has enough coordination to toddle along, he is handed a ball and told to live it and love it.

2. I suck 

  • Being one of the tallest people in the country is of little importance in a game that requires tremendous dexterity of the feet.
  • My background in basketball is also of minimal importance since touching the ball with a hand is a one-way ticket to watching from the sideline.
  • Furthermore, my four months of soccer in the US left me with less skill than the average, Honduran kinder-gardener.

Which leads me to:

3.  I am currently getting a triple dosage of humility from my Abba.

And it doesn’t taste all that great.

Kind of like the mud from the bottom of my friend’s cleats actually.

At first I was guilty of naively mistaking my lack of athletic skill for my lack of cleats.

But after going to the market and purchasing a second-hand pair, I realized the truth(s).

  • The best pair of cleats in the world couldn’t possibly make these feet any more coordinated
  • My pride is disgusting beyond all measure. Yet something that could be fixed with a little deconstruction by God’s hand’s.

And my Abba simply decided to use a couple of Honduran kids and a few hours on the field to show me what actually matters.

Only as I lay in the mud lamenting my most recent schooling did Jesus’ words in Luke 16 begin to make sense:

“You are the ones who justify yourselves in the eyes of men, but God knows your hearts. What is highly valued among men is detestable in God’s sight.”

I had undeniably been making my ability in sports into an idol.

God has blessed me with a good health and a fit body and I was trying to use that to build myself up in the eyes of men, all the while sucking the attention away from God’s work in my life

There is no way that He could possibly have been pleased with that, (seeing how he is a jealous God and all.)

Thankfully my Abba above pulled me out of that ditch

The words of Paul in his letter to the Colossians have further redirected my efforts away from building myself up.

Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

And towards displaying my Abba’s incredible work in my life.

I have turned to encouraging, hustling, and trying to mirror these attributes on the soccer field so that those playing with me would turn their eyes away from my lacking ability, and toward my Abba.

The beautiful one who sustains me daily and has never failed to pour out his His love on me.

MY ABBA

 

2 thoughts on “futbol!

Leave a Comment

