Honduras / Random Musings / Travel

Just add water and… shake?

There’s just something about waterfalls.

They mesmerize and enchant me in a way words can very rarely describe.

Flowing, cascading, powerful, unrelenting, and satisfying.

A beautiful image of God’s own character.

To the often nomadic Israelites, living water was always a symbol of abundant life.

Therefore, It’s no wonder that from the beginning of the Bible to the end, water flows through the pages of scripture.

Everyone has a dry spell or two in their walk with Him.

Without them our growth would be tragically stunted.

A long, draining week and a half of serving alongside Hondurans and North Americans alike, left me deep within one of these spiritual deserts.

Thankfully, Mark Searcy decided to take us to the beautiful Pulhapanzak falls following an especially hot and strenuous day serving in a far-out village.

After a short car ride and an even shorter hike, I suddenly found myself gripped with fear as I looked out over the plummeting water and remembered God’s words in Jeremiah 2:13

“Be appalled at this, you heavens, and shudder with great horror,” declares the LORD.    My people have committed two sins: They have forsaken me, the spring of living water, and have dug their own cisterns, broken cisterns that cannot hold water.”

In an instant God convicted me of all the selfishness, pride, and fear that I had been hording in my heart.

Just like the Israelites of old- I had traded an unquenchable flow of eternal, peace-giving liquid for the few drips of scummy water the world had to offer me.

Yet as my foot left the slippery deck and settled on the equally precarious rocks at the base of the waterfall, all of life’s little worries and fears washed away in an instant like the clouds of mist rolling off the swollen, muddy channels of throbbing water.

It was then and there that I got a taste of the life-giving water He promises in  Revelation 22:17

¨Let the one who is thirsty come; and let the one who wishes take the free gift of the water of life.¨

As our little group crawled over boulders and swam through rapids towards the source of the blinding mist and crashing water–

 I was reminded of the beauty–

Of the glorious God–

 We can do naught but serve–

Once we have tasted his love.–

Water is a powerful representation of His work.

The God who used torrents of water to purge the earth of its evil inhabitants (Genesis 7:24) is the same God who leads His flock by still waters when they are thirsty (Psalm 23:2).

I want the water that Jesus offers the Samaritan woman when he says in John 4:13-14

“Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again,  but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Pray that the things of this world would become less and less attractive in your life and mine.

Because only Living water can satisfy in this world full of broken and infected cisterns.

Hasta Luego!

2 thoughts on “Just add water and… shake?

  1. This, as always, is making me miss Honduras a lot!
    I hope you’re having a great time now that you’ve got Linda’s house to yourself again. 😉
    We’re praying for you!

Leave a Comment

