Random Musings / Travel / United States

Ponderings From The Art Loeb Trail

“God writes the Gospel not in the Bible alone, but also on trees, and in the flowers and clouds and stars.” -Martin Luther

This week I was blessed to be able to join several buddies and hike the Art Loeb trail near Brevard, NC.  Although all 30+ miles of the trail were quite grueling on my ill-conditioned body, It was definitely four days of fellowship with Father that I wouldn’t trade for the world. Blisters were not the only thing I left the trail with; I also gained a new appreciation for the earth I live on . Father used every second of my time away from the rush of life to detox my mind. To show me the all my  futile striving and leave me awed by the beauty of this planet I call “home”.

This speck of blue and green hurling through space at mach 8.

His creation.

His masterpiece.

The most detailed and fascinating canvass ever spoken into existence.

I’m not going to lie, I dwelt in an almost constant state of awe as we hiked through the beautiful Shining Rock Wilderness area. Wave after wave of fresh realization swept over me every time we reached a peak or crossed a stream. He made this for US to enjoy! He didn’t have to carve out every beautiful deep gorge! He wasn’t forced to clothe every tree with bright green coat of moss! He didn’t begrudgingly paint each butterfly’s wings with vibrant colors!

NO, He did it to express His infinite glory.

Father is so incredibly creative, He never misses a chance to communicate with His children, and yet, I often find myself accusing him of being silent. I want to see Him face to face and audibly hear his voice. But the truth is, I just need to open my eyes and ears and simply soak up the world surrounding me. Every tree, rock, flower, and bird is a beautiful work of art that I can choose to acknowledged and learn from… or ignore and carry on my way.

Over the course of the hike I often found that my mind was so focused on the mountain five miles down the trail that I could barely enjoy the breathtaking waterfall five feet in front of me.It made me realize that I don’t want to live life this way. Rushing from goal to goal, from class to class, from committment to committment and never really enjoying any of them. Our time on this tiny green and blue speck is far to short to be wasted rushing through it all.

Our lives have nothing to do with the destination, and everything to do with the journey.

Everyone dies, but not everyone truly lives.

Each second of the day we have the chance to pause and ask God, “What do you want to show me about yourself through this situation? through this tree? or through this person?”

I believe that every star, every blade of grass, and every mountaintop view has something significant and unique to say about its creator. We simply have to listen closely and allow it to tell its own story.

Psalm 19: 1-4

“The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
 Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they reveal knowledge.
 They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.
 Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.”

5 thoughts on “Ponderings From The Art Loeb Trail

  1. “We have been created as recipients. I look at the stars, at the grass, at my fat-faced children, at my fingernails, and I am oppressed by gratitude” (Wilson). Thankfulness like shackles, man. Good stuff.

    • haha, I know God likes to overwhelm His children with beauty. Glad he choose to do it with you as well. Thanks for the prayers! they mean 1000X more than we could ever imagine.

Leave a Comment

