Mission / Philippines / Travel

First Thoughts on the Philippines

Lamentations 3:22-23

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

“I’m here.”    “This is reality.”     “You’re not going to wake up from it.”

Is what I have to tell myself time and time again. Even after almost a week here in the Philippines, It all still seems like a giant blur. But It has been a good blur. One chock-full-of the Presence of God, of colorful signs, cheerful faces, and lots and lots or rice.

A blur that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

On top of the myriad of new sights, sounds and smells permeating the atmosphere here, God has also chosen to overwhelm me with a fresh, brilliant sense of His love. I have to rely on him for everything here. From the moment I crawl out of bed at 4:30 in the morning and splash cold water on my face, to the countless hours spent standing in the sun, to the battle I wage every night against my eyelids as I fight to read through those last few verses of my chapter. God made me aware of just how involved He is in every second of my life. My strength does not come from me. If it did, I would have already bought a return ticket back to the US.

I simply don’t have the energy. The love. Or the strength to do any of this apart from Him.

Thankfully, I don’t have to. I was never intended to. God created me to walk with Him in a garden. He created me to rely on Him for every breath.

I was created with weaknesses so that the glory of God would be made all the more visible in my life.

Just like a clay jar that is so full of holes that it cannot hold water

So I am so full of cracks and holes that whenever God’s love gets poured on me it seeps out and drenches everything around it.

My flaws may not be his original design. But he makes use of them anyways.

He is able to use everything, even my weaknesses for His glory.

That’s the God I serve.

.

I’ll post some pictures soon! I promise! haha.

One thought on “First Thoughts on the Philippines

  1. so glad He is moving in you and your work!! definitely sounds exciting…i’ve been facing some of the same things getting ready for Moldova. it’s terribly scary and wonderfully exciting all at the same time haha can’t wait to see pictures!!

Leave a Comment

