Communion / Mission / Philippines

Comfort Zone

I love my comfort zone. But I’m not sure that God shares that same love for it. Its not that he is adamantly against me ever being comfortable in this life, Its just that he is far more obsessed with making me think, act, and love like His son, Jesus.

The last two weeks of my life have by far been the most intentional and challenging I have ever experienced. God has absolutely ripped my comfort zone to shreds.

Before I came to the Philippines, I wasn’t comfortable preaching or talking in front of large groups of people. Guess who has two thumbs and gets to preach every single Sunday morning. THIS GUY.

Before God brought me here I was never really all that great at working with other people as a team. Now I spend every waking hour cooking, cleaning, teaching, working, and praying with the 5 people on my team.

Before setting out on this mission, I never dreamed that I would be going house to house holding Bible studies, and putting myself out there to fail every day. But that has become the reality I live in. God has a sense of humor, and he has continually stretched me and forced me out of my very narrow zone of comfort.

I signed up for this trip because I was far more comfortable with medicine than with sharing the good news. But God wanted me to grow in other areas instead. I have quickly discovered that this trip is 5% medicine and 95% bringing the kingdom of God to where I am at this summer.

Our God knows that we won’t grow unless we are stretched and tested. That is why he puts us in uncomfortable places. It is for our own good. At least that is what He has been teaching me. The hard way. haha.

James 1:2-4

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

4 thoughts on “Comfort Zone

  1. wow…i definitely needed to hear that this morning. the testing hurts, but God uses it to paint such a beautiful picture in the end! praying for you my friend.

  2. So yeah I just wrote you a letter about this….. and wondering how exactly you were handling this?? knowing you would be :p haha

  3. Aw man, I’m just about in tears reading this, knowing the deep work God is doing in your heart; but also what He is doing through you in others. I can just sense the growth taking place. Love it Bro…so excited for what God has for you!

  4. Love you so much Nate. Praise the Lord. He always knows what we need the most. Praying for you in your learning as God teaches and for the work you are doing. Also for the whole team. Grandma

Leave a Comment

