Mission / Philippines

Medical Missions In the Philippines

All last week a medical and dental team from Alabama was traveling around the rural areas surrounding Butuan City. They offered free drugs and free tooth removal, so they were quite busy as you can imagine. The day they came to our village we pulled 112 teeth. haha. We literally had three chairs in a row and the dentist would scurry from one to another injecting anesthetic, digging out roots and pulling out the stubborn teeth. He let me handle the easy ones though, which was probably one of the funnest things I have ever done. I can’t really describe the joy of wrenching out a pair of someone’s molars. It is a unique experience that definitely reminded me why exactly I wanted to be a surgeon. that satisfying pop mixed with the “ting that you hear as you drop that extracted tooth into a tray is …. mmmm…. pure fun.

But on a different note, we have been going from house to house asking the families if they have any boys that need circumcisions. so far we have a list of 50 boys who are ready to get it over with… so…. be in prayer for My team. we are going to have our hands full for the next week.

3 thoughts on “Medical Missions In the Philippines

  1. Finally someone who understands the pure joy of hearing the tink or the rip…. haha I have tried telling people here that that is one of the reasons it excites me and they laugh…. and look at me weird….

  2. As ur appealing as this all sounds to me, I’m glad you are having a good trip. It’s exciting to hear all the things God is doing through you down there. Praying for you kid. Keep doing what you’re doing!

    • Thanks Brinson! I can’t wait to hear how you and the whole Billium crew are doing. God has been leading me to pray for you guys all summer. I am excited to hear all that he has done. Thanks for the prayers and glory to God, he really is doing big things here!

Leave a Comment

