Honduras / Mission

A King and a Kingdom (Part 2)

John 4:35

“Do you not say, ‘Four months more and then the harvest’? I tell you, open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest.”

What I thought was a one-time summer mission trip has turned into something far greater. Just like the ambassador who realized that his task was far greater than He ever imagined, I have realized just how desperate the need is for Jesus. After seeing how God used a group of untrained college students to accomplish so much in only 52 days, God placed a dream on my heart to reproduce this same ministry in another part of the world.

Next summer, I am going to be partnering with Nehemiah Teams to lead a group of eight college students into the mountains of central Honduras. For 52 days, we will engage in ministries that range from teaching children’s bible studies to assisting medical professionals. Our hope is that by meeting the physical needs of the impoverished, we will be able to open doors to share the gospel.

Just like the ambassador in the story who found himself at a crossroads, I have now begun to realize that the task of bringing the gospel of hope to every tribe, tongue, and nation is far bigger than any single individual, church, or denomination. This is why I am writing you. What God is calling me into this summer is far bigger than me. Without help this dream cannot go anywhere, and that really scares me. However, I know my God qualifies the called and is a God who provides.

If you believe God is going to use this to advance His Kingdom, then here are some ways you can become a part of this mission:

  • Pray. Prayer is the fuel that will allow us to be successful as we follow God’s leading in ministry in these countries. Without prayer, nothing will happen.
  • As you can imagine, a trip like this requires financial support from a number of people. I need to raise $3,000 by April 1 to cover my expenses as team leader. If you would like to be part of this mission through your financial support please make your check payable to Christian Community in Honduras and mail them to (100 Lookup Lodge Rd. Travelers Rest, SC 29690). (Instead of putting my name on the check, please include a small note saying “For Nate Heard.” All contributions are tax deductible.
  • Talk to your church about allowing me the opportunity to come and share the mission God is leading me into. (This could be a Sunday morning, Sunday night, Wednesday night, Sunday-school class, fundraiser dinner, etc.) God is calling me into a life of full-time missions, so I want to begin partnering with churches to see the gospel spread.
  • Please contact me about any opportunities. My email address is natezackheard@gmail.com Please use it if you would like more information or have any opportunities available.

I cannot thank you enough for the time you took to read this and for the sacrifices you have made for the Lord already. My continued prayer is that King Jesus would bless you and continue to guide you on paths of righteousness.

Sincerely,  Your brother in arms –

NZH

Leave a Comment

